Archdiocese of Hobart

The Archdiocese of Hobart is the centre of the Catholic Church in Tasmania and is entrusted to the Archbishop of Hobart, the Most Reverend Julian Porteous DD, and nurtured with the co-operation of his priests.

The Archdiocese of Hobart is the southern most diocese for the Catholic Church in Australia, corresponding with the coastal boundaries of Tasmania and includes some small islands, such as King, Flinders and Bruny, and is divided into twenty-five parishes.

Archbishop Porteous DD is assisted in his administration of the Archdiocese by Vicar-General Fr Mark Freeman VG VF PP, Chancellor Fr Terry Rush VF PP and a group of senior priests who form a regular consulting group for His Grace. Across the Church agencies, the Archbishop meets regularly with senior managers and advisors as well as heading the governing councils of the major Catholic colleges across the State.

Within the greater collective of Catholic agencies, the Church is the largest non-government employer in the State, employing around 5,000 people of all faiths, cultures, religions and backgrounds while delivering services in the areas of welfare, training, employment, aged care, education, health care, affordable housing, childcare, charitable works, disability employment, laundry services and retail centres to approximately 70,000 Tasmanians annually.

Working within the Church environment, irrespective of faith or background, sees many people brought together into a communion of life as part of a relationship with others, especially the marginalised and disadvantaged.


Download the Archbishop's Charter for Catholic Schools    Download the Archdiocese Vision and Mission Statement    Download the Archdiocese Ethos

You are here: Home / About Us / Archdiocese of Hobart